At the heart of the Protestant reformation, were five essential statements which are statements that are still at the heart of Christianity today. Those five statements are referred to as the “Five Solas”— “sola” is the Latin word for “alone or only.” The fifth solas is called Soli Deo Gloria, which translated means “For the Glory of God Alone.”

John Mark Caton, Ph.D